Bands that well and truly hit you at the core - whether it's through crushing heaviness or pure emotional atmosphere - are very hard to come by nowadays. One such band is UK post-everything quintet CANVAS.

To describe Canvas' sound is difficult, but perhaps the easiest thing to say is that they play their own unique brand of emotionally charged Post-Hardcore. Not ones to shy away from getting their hands dirty within their own creations, Canvas have spent the last couple of years jumping in the van and playing shows anywhere and everywhere from clubs and houses, to garages and practice spaces. The band booked their own UK and EU shows until people started to take note. With a heavy DIY approach to their work ethos, Canvas also made a strong point on keeping everything as 'in-house' as possible, insistent on creating and organising as much as they could themselves.

Now, in 2017, Canvas still remain permanent believers of a 'Do It Yourself' attitude and approach to anything they do as a collective, however the team has grown in aid of pushing their debut full-length, 'Worry'. Due to be released via Basick Records October 6th, 'Worry' combines crashing, atmospheric waves with slabs of intricate guitar work. Add in drum work that ranges from demonic to almost delicate and tracks that ripple with poignant power, and you have the solid foundations of a brilliant post-hardcore album.

Of the new album, vocalist Ricky Clarke comments: "Worry is a record that exposes my anxieties about coming of age in the most honest way I could manage.

I feel everybody goes through a similar thought process in their early to mid-twenties. Constantly assessing where you're heading, comparing yourself to siblings & friends who in your mind, may have better opportunities or more 'success' than you. Seeing your friends marry, buy houses, have kids and achieve the 'normal' life milestones, can be hard to witness when you're stuck in a rut. It can feel like the world is against you and no matter how hard you try, you just cant shake the feeling that you're being left behind.

I guess this record is my way of dealing with those feelings and how I felt at certain times living through it. If anyone picks this album up and it helps them realise its okay and normal to feel this way then our job is done.

I think sometimes its important to know that other people are feeling the same way as you. It's okay to feel lost.

Worry is an album for every single person who feels inadequate, an outsider or alone."

'Worry' will be released October 6th 2017 via Basick both on vinyl and digitally. Pre-orders are now live over at Basick Supplies!



  1. Stay A While
  2. Low
  3. Medicate Me
  4. Loveless
  5. The Death Of Us
  6. Hospital Beds
  7. C.O.L.D
  8. Haunt You
  9. Awake
  10. All Alone
Released06 October 2017
CatalogueBSK108DD / CD / LP
Copyright 2018 Basick Records

Get the merch via Basick Supplies logo

CANVAS - "Worry" (Exclusive Edition Black/White Marbled 140g Vinyl LP + Free CD)

Basick.Supplies is our official merchandise partner for all CDs, vinyls, clothing and more.